New Aspirations

I know it has been over a year since I last posted, but I have been extremely busy throughout my junior year. However, now that school is out, I plan to devote much more of my time over the summer to this project. As mentioned before, I am really passionate about this cause, and public health is something that I may even consider majoring in in college. I hope to

a) educate myself to a level in which I can comprehend and explain the science behind sugar and its adverse effects

b) spread the message

c) find a mentor in the field

d) take action in the community and create real change.

I recently created a twitter and I found this posted by Maureen Beach, director of communications at the American Beverage Association:

.@MinhKular Misleading to say reducing soft drink consumption will reduce #diabetes. Many risk factors are at play: http://bit.ly/b3wwZw 

The website she uses as proof is from the American Heart Association, I posted its contents below:

Who is at Greater Risk for Type 2 Diabetes?

  • People with impaired glucose tolerance (IGT) and/or impaired fasting glucose (IFG)
  • People over age 45
  • People with a family history of diabetes
  • People who are overweight
  • People who do not exercise regularly
  • People with low HDL cholesterol or high triglycerides, high blood pressure
  • Certain racial and ethnic groups (e.g., Non-Hispanic Blacks, Hispanic/Latino Americans, Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, and American Indians and Alaska Natives)
  • Women who had gestational diabetes, or who have had a baby weighing 9 pounds or more at birth

Even with my preliminary knowledge, I know that Ms. Beach’s claim that limiting soft drink consumption will not reduce diabetes is false. I know there is a correlation with impaired glucose tolerance and soft drink consumption. However, my goal for this summer is to educate myself to be able to refute these claims with scientific warrants/knowledge. I want to understand the science down to its chemical components so that when I do argue with such frivolous claims, I can sound like an expert.

I know this sounds outrageous, by hey, dream big. I want to be able to at least effectively address each of Ms. Beach’s claims about soft drinks being harmless. Because I know she is wrong.

0 Responses to “New Aspirations”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

